Will Your Audience Get the Point?

Over the last three years specifically, I have been exposed to the lessons surrounding rhetorical devices quite often. In high school, I learned about the matter in AP Language and AP Literature and in college I further expanded my knowledge during UWRT 1101. Due to this experience I believe that I am significantly aware of the aspects of the rhetorical situation in writing pieces. There was one specific assignment that was given during my previous UWRT class that gave me the opportunity to put multiple rhetorical tools into play. The multigenre project was a month long assignment in which I had to choose a topic to research and argue and present in the format of multiple genres. The topic I chose for this project was arguing that Americans should omit dairy from their diets. This project challenged me to reach multiple audiences and get my point across. This quote from the reading mirrors some of my own thoughts while I was working on the multigenre project: “Are my readers likely to have an emotional response to my work? What do I want my readers to do, think, or feel?” In order to ensure that individuals of all ages and backgrounds would emotionally respond to my work, I incorporated research labs, recipe pages, drawings, interview manuscripts, and photos into the project. By using these multiple genres, I believe that a wide range of audience members could be targeted.

In my opinion, the rhetorical situation is extremely important when reading any piece of writing. In Reclaiming Conversation, Sherry Turkle does a brilliant job of targeting her audience. Her tone of voice is serious, but also understanding. She includes quotes and examples from people who are young, which makes the text very relatable to the young audience I believe she is trying to reach.

Reading this article inspired me to pay more attention to the rhetorical situation I include in my writing. I hope that my writing will reach the right people in the right way, and this cannot be done unless I consider my audience, tone, and language.

 

Leave a Reply

